Editorial · August 2026 Rankings
The best crypto prop firms, ranked by execution.
We ranked the best crypto prop firms on one question first: does your order reach a real exchange, or a broker’s price feed? Three of the eight do. We checked every fee, split and rule below against each firm’s own site in August 2026.
By Gaurav Agarwal · · ● Point-in-time data, verify on firm sites
How we ranked them: 5 criteria.
Five things decide where a firm lands. We weight payout trust and rules heavily. A great split means nothing if you can’t get paid, or if the drawdown rule trips you on day one.
Payout proof & trust
Documented payout history, a named registered company, and how the firm handled the 2024 to 2025 shakeout. Track record beats marketing.
Evaluation rules & drawdown
1-step vs 2-step, profit targets, and static vs trailing drawdown. Static drawdown tends to be friendlier when you’re trading crypto volatility.
Profit split & payout speed
Headline split, scaling path, and how fast money actually lands. Weekly, biweekly, and on-demand payouts are now the norm.
Asset coverage incl. crypto
Real exchange crypto, crypto CFDs, forex, futures. We flag whether crypto is a first-class market or a low-leverage side-dish.
Price & platform
Challenge cost, fee refunds, and which platform you’re locked into. A cheap entry with a fee refund can shift the real cost quite a bit.
The podium — our top 3 picks
HyroTrader
Challenges run on a Bybit demo account, then funded traders route to the real Bybit book. Crypto-only, and clear about how it works.
Kraken Prop
The only program here run by a large regulated exchange. Kraken bought Breakout in September 2025 and folded it into Kraken Pro, so orders hit the live book.
Crypto Fund Trader
Pick your venue at checkout: a Bybit account for real execution, or MT5 and Match-Trader if you would rather trade the CFD book.
8 Best Crypto Prop Firms Compared
| Firm | Execution | Crypto Pairs | Max Split | Challenge From | US? | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
01 K |
Live Kraken Pro | 60+ | 80–90% | $20 | Kraken rules | Trade → |
02 HY |
Real via Bybit | Bybit book | Up to 90% | $59 | Bybit rules | Trade → |
03 CF |
Bybit or CFD | 556 CFD / Bybit | 80% | $40 | No MT5 in US | Trade → |
04 BF |
Simulated | 100+ | 80% | $50 | Not stated | Visit → |
05 FN |
Crypto CFD | 9 pairs | Up to 90% | $32.99 | Yes | Trade → |
06 FP |
Crypto CFD | CFD book | Up to 90% | $29 | Yes | Trade → |
07 F |
CFD on demo | ~30 CFD | Up to 90% | €79 | Via OANDA | Trade → |
08 T5 |
Crypto CFD | CFD book | Tiered | $19 | Restricted | Trade → |
Most crypto prop firms don’t let you trade crypto.
Three of the eight firms below send your orders to a real exchange. The other five quote a broker’s price feed, which changes what passing an evaluation actually proves.
Real exchange execution
Your orders reach an actual order book. Kraken Prop routes to live Kraken Pro across 60+ pairs. HyroTrader routes to Bybit. Crypto Fund Trader offers a Bybit venue alongside its CFD platforms. Spreads, slippage and liquidity behave the way they will when you trade your own money, so what you learn in the evaluation transfers.
Crypto CFDs on a broker feed
You trade a contract that tracks the price on MetaTrader or a similar platform. FTMO’s own blog calls its book “spot-based crypto CFDs”, and its account terms state that every account it provides is a demo account in a simulated environment. FundedNext’s help centre is blunter still: “you are not buying real cryptocurrencies like Bitcoin or Ethereum.” Leverage is usually lower and the pair list is thinner.
Neither model is a scam, and the CFD firms include the most established names in the industry. But they answer a different question. If you want to prove a crypto strategy you will later run on an exchange, execution venue matters more than the profit split. If you only want the cheapest route to a funded account, the CFD firms undercut everyone.
A note for US traders. US residents can’t legally trade retail CFDs, which rules out most of the second column. The legal routes are exchange-backed programs such as Kraken Prop, or CME-listed crypto futures through a US futures firm — see our Topstep review and Apex Trader Funding review, both of which offer Micro Bitcoin and Micro Ether contracts.
In-depth reviews
All 8 firms, in detail.
Each card covers the key rules, what works, what to watch, and a link to start. Funded capital is simulated at every firm here, and profit is paid from the firm’s treasury.
Kraken Prop
Kraken bought the crypto-native prop firm Breakout in September 2025 and folded it into Kraken Pro. That makes this the only program on the list run by a large regulated exchange rather than a broker or a startup. Trades execute on the live Kraken Pro platform, 60+ pairs, leverage up to 5x. Payouts land in your Kraken account, usually inside 24 hours.
+ What works
- Trades run on the real Kraken Pro order book, not a broker’s synthetic price
- Backed by a large regulated exchange, so counterparty risk is not a startup’s balance sheet
- Payout requests processed within 24 hours, straight to your Kraken account
- Evaluations start at $20, the cheapest genuine entry point here
− What to watch
- Daily loss limits are tight on the advanced plans, 3% on some tiers
- Crypto only, so there is no forex or futures book to fall back on
- Not available in the UK, and Kraken’s own country restrictions apply
HyroTrader
HyroTrader is the purest “trade like a real crypto trader” option, routing real fills through Bybit and Binance order books with up to 30% maker/taker fee cashback claimed. Account sizes run to $200K and the split scales over time to 90% without a performance milestone. The trade-off is a trailing drawdown off your highest equity, which is riskier than CFT’s static model, plus a 40% consistency rule in the evaluation.
+ What works
- Real Bybit and Binance order-book execution
- Up to 30% fee cashback claimed
- Split scales to 90% on a time basis, no milestone
- First payout possible one day after first funded trade
− What to watch
- Trailing drawdown off highest equity is unforgiving
- 40% consistency rule in the eval
- Exchange jurisdiction rules apply to your account
Crypto Fund Trader
Crypto Fund Trader is one of the longest-running crypto-only firms, with Bybit-grade execution across 715+ pairs and leverage up to 100x on supported instruments. The big edge for crypto traders is its static drawdown, which is far more forgiving than the trailing models rivals use. It runs as a registered Swiss company and reports a multi-million-dollar payout total, though treat that figure as the firm’s own claim. KYC isn’t needed to take the demo evaluation, only to withdraw.
+ What works
- Real Bybit order-book execution, no synthetic wicking
- Largest pair count here, high leverage
- Forgiving static drawdown
- No KYC to run the evaluation
− What to watch
- You trade through your own exchange account, so Bybit’s jurisdiction rules apply
- Payout-speed and total figures are firm-reported
- Crypto-only, no forex or indices
Bitfunded
Bitfunded is one of the few firms here with no forex or futures product diluting the offer, and its own site states the environment is fully simulated with demo capital. More than 100 crypto pairs, an 80/20 split, and payouts processed within 24 hours of a profit-split day.
+ What works
- Crypto-only positioning, nothing bolted on from a forex book
- States plainly on its own site that accounts are simulated
- Payouts processed within 24 hours of the profit-split day
- Accounts from $2,500, so the entry risk is small
− What to watch
- Fully simulated, so you are never touching a real order book
- Drawdown limits are not stated clearly on the public pages, check before paying
- Shorter track record than Kraken, FTMO or The5ers
FundedNext
FundedNext built its reputation on payout speed and a generous split: up to 95% on funded accounts, plus a 24-hour payout guarantee and a 15% share of profits earned during the challenge phase, which is unusual. It carries one of the largest review bases in the category. Crypto is available as a CFD with leverage capped at 1:1 to absorb volatility. Treat US access as restricted unless the firm confirms a US-specific path.
+ What works
- Up to 95% split via add-on
- 24-hour payout guarantee, fast average processing
- Pays a share of profit during the challenge
- Cheap entry, flexible model menu
− What to watch
- Crypto is CFD, leverage only 1:1
- Standard CFD challenge is non-US; confirm before buying
- Top split needs a paid add-on at checkout
FundingPips
FundingPips offers the lowest entry fee in this lineup, starting around $29, plus a genuine instant-funding tier (Zero, 95% split). Its split is tiered by how often you withdraw, from 60% weekly up to 100% monthly, and a Hot Seat scaling track reaches $2M. It supports crypto as a CFD. We don’t have a CoinCodeCap review of FundingPips yet, so there’s no internal review to link. As a CFD firm, treat US access as unconfirmed until you check its current terms.
+ What works
- Lowest entry fee here, from about $29
- Real instant-funding tier with a 95% split
- Frequency-tiered splits up to 100%
- USDC payouts supported, Hot Seat scaling to $2M
− What to watch
- Instant-funding daily-loss limits are tight for crypto volatility
- Crypto is CFD, not real exchange execution
- US CFD access unconfirmed; verify
FTMO
FTMO has the longest clean payout record in prop trading, going back to 2014. For a crypto trader it is also the clearest case of the execution gap above. FTMO’s own blog calls its crypto book “spot-based crypto CFDs”, and its account disclaimer states that every account it provides is a demo account trading in a simulated environment. That holds even after you are funded. US clients trade through the OANDA co-brand, where the crypto list narrows to a single symbol, BTCUSD.
+ What works
- Longest clean payout record in CFD prop
- 90% split on 1-step, fee refunded on first payout
- Legal US access via OANDA since Aug 2025
- Scaling path to a large funded balance
− What to watch
- Crypto is CFD only, leverage just 1:3
- US states Arkansas, Delaware, Louisiana, Montana, South Carolina excluded (verify)
- Not the firm for a crypto-focused trader
The5ers
The5ers has run since 2016 and stands out for its scaling ceiling, growing funded balances toward $4M with a genuine 100% split tier at advanced stages. Its High Stakes program is a 2-step evaluation, and Hyper Growth uses milestone-based scaling. It focuses on forex, indices and metals; crypto support should be verified on its site. As a CFD firm it isn’t US-accessible on standard platforms, so confirm before buying.
+ What works
- One of the largest scaling ceilings, around $4M
- Genuine 100% split tier at advanced scaling
- Long track record since 2016
- Multiple program types to fit different styles
− What to watch
- Crypto support needs confirming
- Not US-accessible on standard platforms
- Scaling targets take time to reach
7 trends reshaping prop trading in 2026.
The space looks very different than it did two years ago. We’ve laid out what changed and what it means for where you put your challenge fee.
Real-exchange crypto is the premium tier
The headline divide is live order books (Bybit, Kraken, Binance) versus synthetic crypto CFDs. Real-crypto firms sell “no synthetic wicking” as a direct shot at simulators.
Exchange-backed prop has arrived
Kraken’s September 2025 purchase of Breakout was the first time a top regulated exchange bought a prop firm. That backing brings liquidity, proof-of-reserves and a payout backstop.
The post-MyForexFunds shakeout
The CFTC case and the MetaTrader licensing squeeze drove 80 to 100 firm shutdowns across 2024 and 2025 and pushed CFD firms to block US clients.
Payout-proof transparency is table stakes
Firms now publish running payout totals, Trustpilot scores and on-chain USDC proofs. Savvy buyers weight verifiable history over headline splits.
Futures firms are the US default
Because US persons can’t legally trade retail CFDs, US traders lean on Topstep, Apex and similar futures firms on regulated CME contracts.
Instant funding is growing but tightening
Skip-the-eval tracks are expanding, but firms offset the missing data with daily-loss limits of 2 to 3%, which are punishingly tight for crypto.
Scaling and no-time-limit models
Splits compress upward to 90 to 100% via scaling, time limits are disappearing, and weekly or on-demand stablecoin payouts are now normal.
Pick by trader type
Find the right firm for how you trade.
Pick the scenario that fits you. Each card names the firm we’d recommend and the reason behind it.
Best for crypto
You trade crypto and want real exchange fills, high leverage, and a forgiving static drawdown.
Best US futures
You’re a US resident and want a legal, regulated venue with strong value to a first payout.
Cheapest entry
You want the lowest cost to get started and a path to a high split.
Fastest payout
You want money in hand quickly with a generous split.
Best for beginners
You’re new and want an education-first, structured on-ramp into futures.
Biggest accounts
You want a large scaling ceiling and a real 100% split tier over time.
Instant funding
You want to skip the evaluation, but you accept tighter daily-loss limits.
No time limit, safest brand
You want the most trusted firm with no evaluation time pressure.
Why payout-proof and track record matter.
This sector has a churn problem. A few events explain why we weight a documented payout history and a registered company over a flashy split.
The CFTC sued MyForexFunds and froze its assets, alleging that “live” accounts were actually simulated. It scared most CFD firms into geo-blocking US persons.
A special master recommended dismissal with prejudice and sanctions against the CFTC after it emerged flagged transfers were legitimate tax payments.
Broker cutoffs, the MetaTrader licensing squeeze and payment-processor pressure closed or paused an estimated 80 to 100 firms.
MyFundedFX (Seacrest) ended prop trading, force-closed positions and pivoted to a CFD brokerage. It shouldn’t appear on any 2026 list.
Weight proof over promises.
Favor firms with a long, documented payout history and a named, registered company. Defunct or again-flagged firms like MyFundedFX and the original MyForexFunds shouldn’t be on your shortlist. We’ve left Blueberry Funded off the ranked list given its mixed Trustpilot pattern around payout disputes; if you consider it, read the complaints first. And remember, the funded account is simulated, so the firm’s willingness and ability to pay is what decides everything.
FAQ
7 questions traders ask us most.
What is the best crypto prop firm in 2026?
For trading real crypto order books, Crypto Fund Trader and HyroTrader lead. CFT routes through Bybit with 715+ pairs and a forgiving static drawdown; HyroTrader uses real Bybit and Binance fills with fee cashback. For a CFD firm with a crypto track and broad coverage, FTMO and FundingPips are the picks. Breakout, backed by Kraken, is the one to watch.
Can US traders use prop trading firms?
Yes, but the path matters. US persons generally can’t legally trade retail CFDs, so most MetaTrader-based firms block US clients. US traders usually go to futures firms like Topstep and Apex Trader Funding, which trade regulated CME futures and accept US residents by default. FTMO opened a legal US route via OANDA in August 2025, with a few states excluded.
Are prop trading firms legit and safe?
The established names with multi-year payout records are legitimate, but the model is high-risk. Most challenge buyers never reach a payout, evaluations run on simulated accounts, and 80 to 100 firms shut down across 2024 and 2025. Weight verifiable payout history and a named, registered company over headline profit-split numbers.
What is the cheapest prop firm to start with?
FundingPips starts around $29 for a small account. On the crypto side, Breakout challenges start around $50 and refund the fee on the first payout, so a cleared evaluation effectively costs nothing. FundedNext sits near $60, and Apex uses one-time eval fees with frequent discounts. For the fastest payouts, Hola Prime has Deloitte-audited withdrawals averaging 34 minutes.
Do prop firms really pay out?
The reputable firms do, and many publish running payout totals and Trustpilot scores. Treat those figures as the firm’s own claims unless a third party confirms them. The safest signal is a long, documented payout history plus a registered company behind the brand. Payouts now commonly settle in 8 to 48 hours, often in USDC or USDT.
CFD prop firm vs futures prop firm: what’s the difference?
CFD firms offer contracts-for-difference on forex, indices, metals and crypto, traded off-exchange on platforms like MT5 or cTrader. Futures firms trade exchange-listed CME contracts on platforms like Tradovate or NinjaTrader. The key split: US persons can’t legally trade retail CFDs, so a US trader typically uses a futures firm or a US-specific CFD platform variant.
Real crypto vs crypto CFD: which should I trade?
Real-crypto firms route to live exchange order books, so you get actual fills with no synthetic wicking. CFT and HyroTrader work this way. Crypto-CFD firms quote a broker feed, which often means lower crypto leverage and simulated pricing. FTMO and FundingPips are CFD. If crypto is your main market, the real-exchange model fits better; for multi-asset trading, a CFD firm covers more ground.
The bottom line
If you want one safe default, it’s FTMO: the longest clean payout record, a 90% split, and the first top-tier CFD firm to crack legal US access. If crypto is your whole game, go real-exchange with Crypto Fund Trader or HyroTrader instead of a low-leverage crypto CFD. US residents who can’t trade CFDs should use a futures firm like Apex or Topstep. And whatever you pick, the funded account is simulated, so a firm’s proven willingness to pay matters more than its headline split.
Start with FTMO →



